Beauty Standards and Society

I don’t blame us, it’s an instinct […] but is it right?

So, it’s been over a week, and I haven’t written anything; I’m a bad blogger. Lmao!

I recently went on vacation, so there’s my excuse.

But, today’s topic isn’t about my fantastic, eventful trip!// It’s about competition, but most importantly, beauty.

So, my school is having a “School Queen Competition” (it’s exactly the same as a Prom Queen, but without the Prom), and it does this every year.

 

I was talking to one of my teachers, who’s in the “Planning Committee”, and she hates it. So, we were talking and she just started talking about how it’s a waste of time and money, especially for the candidates’ parents. And it wasn’t until then when I realized: “These girls are spending hundreds of pesos just to be the face of my school for just one year”. And yeah, we, the students, help them, but even then, it’s still a major use of money on the parents’ behave.

And that just got me thinking a lot about how we as humans find the necessity to find “the most beautiful” of everything:

  • “The most beautiful flower”
  • “The most beautiful animal”
  • “The most beautiful place”

“The Most Beautiful Person”

I don’t blame us, it’s an instinct we’ve grown to have since we were young, but is it right? The fact this whole “most beautiful” thing has even become a business for a lot of people, as it is in beauty pageants and end-of-year articles with “Most Handsome/Beautiful Man/Woman”, is astonishing! I do believe beauty standards are something that should be left behind and because of said-beauty-standards: we all lack self-confidence, and the lack of self-confidence leads to depression and self-devaluation.

But I’m no psychologist nor anyone with a major or any type of authority to wrong our doings.

Author: albie1227

"I really want a way to express myself with others and possibly relate with someone who might feel the way I feel and/or is going though what I’ve been going though."

Leave a comment